How to Livestream via The App

The first thing you need to do to ensure that a user can Livestream, is enable the Livestreaming option for them in The Console.

Starting The Livestream


Open your app, and go into the Group that you want to Livestream from. 



Hit the plus icon to create a new post. You will see the Go Live! option:



Hit Go Live, and you will be taken to the Livestream view. Make sure your phone is in landscape mode to enable the best Livestreaming experience. 



Press the grey circle to the right of your screen. This will take you to Standby Mode. This means that members of the group will receive a push notification letting them know that a Livestream is about to start. You can see the number of people who have joined and are waiting for you to go live:



Press the red button to go live. This will trigger a final pop up:



When you’re ready, Begin Stream!


During the Livestream 

During the stream you will see the number of viewers in the top-right corner. Members are able to send live comments in the chat – their comments will pop up on the left-hand side of your screen. 


You can also change the view from front camera to back camera using the camera icon in the bottom right-hand corner. 


Remember that there'll be a 10-15 seconds latency delay on your livestream.




Ending The Livestream 

When you've reached the end of your livestream, press the red button. Then press the black arrow in the top-left corner (or just swipe back on an Android device) to go back to where you were before the livestream.


You will be asked if you want to post the Livestream into the group you have livestreamed from. 


If you'd like to edit the livestream or upload it elsewhere, the recording will be available in the Console for you to download and re-upload later. To access this, go to your Console > Advanced settings > Livestreams.


Another way to access livestream recordings quickly is to allow your livestreams to be saved onto your Camera roll. To do that on iOS go to Settings > Find your App in the list of all apps > enable Save my Livestreams to Camera Roll.


Disciple Tips:

  • Allow up to 60 seconds wait time before you go live, to give members an opportunity to join the Livestream. 
  • If you’ve added a Livestream button to your side menu, you can also go live from there.